Friday, September 17, 2010

Cast of Characters - Max Lucado


Stories of uncommon people in the hands of an uncommon God – that’s what all this book is about.
Max Lucado takes stories of simple people from the Bible and presents one story after another of God using man’s best and overcoming man’s worst.
A simple book with a simple message – God uses imperfect people and makes them perfect through his love.

The book is structured in small chapters, each chapter is entitled by the name of a character from the Bible. What I loved the most is that before every chapter the author presents the actual passage from the Bible that speaks about the character, therefore it is easier to follow what the Scripture says as you read Lucado’s thoughts on the characters presented in the book.

In my opinion Cast of Characters is a wonderful book, and I would recommend it to anyone that still thinks that there is no way that God can use them for his glory. The Bible is full of simple people that had nothing special about themselves, but God saw something that nobody could see inside of them, and that's what made them special.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Saturday, September 11, 2010

Outlive your life - Max Lucado

A book about simple people who can be used by God for glorious purposes.


I absolutely love the way Max Lucado presents the important message of this book. In his own simple yet complex style, he reaches Christians and dares them to step out of comfort zones and care for the lost, to proclaim the transforming power of grace and to share about Jesus Christ.
He offers a lot of examples of people who actually lived the message of this book.


I loved it and I think all Christians must read it, because the truth is that we all need to be reminded once again that Jesus calls every one of us to share the love that He showed us.
It was an inspiring book for me and I am happy that I had the opportunity to read it, therefore I strongly recommend it.






Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Tuesday, September 7, 2010

The Butterfly Effect -- Andy Andrews

The Butterfly Effect is a beautiful designed gift book. I received it as an e-book, so I didn't have the privilege to actually hold it in my hands, but I loved the pictures and the way it is designed.


The message of the book is a powerful one. Andrews presents a couple of stories of amazing and courageous people that literally changed the world ... well, actually not just changed the world, but still change the world today.
What he is trying to make us realize is that every single insignificant action of ours can and will change not only our lives but also the lives of other people that are to come.


The entire message is based upon the theory that Edward Lorenz stated almost 50 years ago known as "the butterfly effect" which sustains the fact that a butterfly could flap its wings and set molecules of air in motion, which would move other molecules of air, in turn moving other molecules of air - eventually capable of starting a hurricane on the other side of the planet. 
This theory that was then mocked by the scientist is today proved and recognized as authentic, accurate and viable and it's known as The Law of Sensitive Dependence Upon Initial Conditions.


I enjoyed this book and it was a real inspiration for me. It has the power of making you conscious about the great effect your actions have upon this world you are living in and the one that is to come.
It really has a powerful message.


You have been created in order that you might make a difference.
You have within you the power to change the world.
Your life ... and what you do with it today
MATTERS FOREVER!


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Tuesday, June 29, 2010

God's promises for girls by Jack Countryman and Amy Parker


This is a cute little book for children, it comes with a hardcover and it's designed very attractively for little girls.
The book is structured into 7 big chapters - God's promises for different situations or what God wants you do as a child of his.
Each page starts with a little poem followed by 3 or 4 verses that emphasize the topic, and at the bottom of the page there is a cute illustration that exemplifies what was presented before.


I personally liked the book and I think it is perfect for preschoolers. It is easy to read, to follow and to understand. I also love the idea of structuring into topics because that makes it interesting and easy to memorize as well. And all the cute illustrations makes it even more appealing for little girls.
I am convinced that this book is a perfect and useful tool for parents to teach their children precious bible lessons that can be understood, applied and fully enjoyed by the little kids, therefore I totally recommend it.






Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Saturday, May 8, 2010

Walk Like You Have Somewhere to Go by Lucille O'Neal and Allison Samuels


Lucille O'Neal is a proud mother of 4, one of them is the famous basketball player Shaquille O'Neal. In this book she talks about her life, about everything she learned from the circumstances and crisis that she has been through.
It's a perfect book for parents, she talks very passionately about how she raised her children, now all grown-ups, about the different needs that every child has and the way the parent can relate to his child's needs. It's a perfect book for the girls that have started very early on this motherhood journey, with no support and encouragement from others maybe, because she reveals a lot of things that helped her on this tough journey that she walked as well. I also think is a great book for those of us who think that we are no longer supposed to dare dreaming big. She is a great example of courage perseverance for all of us.


I liked this book very much. It's a well written biographic book. It's also very easy to read. It motivated me to dare dreaming big and be fearless about what others may think about my dreams. I learned I can do anything and go through everything, because I am a wonderful human being, created and greatly loved by my LORD.


So ... Walk Like You Have Somewhere to Go, because you DO HAVE!!!




Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Monday, May 3, 2010

Plan B by Pete Wilson

Plan B is a book about shattered dreams, about unmet expectations, about people who are unable to see or feel God in the midst of these overbearing circumstances. This books doesn't offer some quick steps to a happy life, but it encourages to a healthy and intimate relationship with the Lord.

I laughed out loud but I also cried reading this book. I love the way Pete Wilson is so personal yet so accurate with the issues that I think everyone can relate to one way or another. He points out a lot of Scripture wisdom to sustain his opinions. Reading his book is like watching him preaching.
I really loved this book, it encouraged me to pursue a much more intimate relationship with my Lord, and to truly trust him even when all the circumstances around me tells me not to, because he is the same, he is who he says he is.

We have all gone through a moment in our lives when we expected God to work in a certain way, but he didn't. Everyone struggled at one point with a shattered dream, or an unmet expectation. Everyone felt alone and desperate, hopeless and helpless at one point or another, waiting for the Lord, but he never really seemed to appear.
Well ... than this book is for you. This book is about you and how can you grow in the middle of those hopeless situations that will eventually come.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”


***

Pete Wilson, I want to thank you for taking the time to write this book, for letting God pour from his wisdom through your words, for letting him use you in such an amazing way. I feel blessed every time I hear you preaching at Cross Point, and I felt blessed by this book as well. God is doing a great job in you and through you.


***
 Pete Wilson is a pastor at Cross Point Church in Nashville, you can listen or even watch him preach here, great series of messages there. But you can also check out his cool blog :)
 

Sunday, March 7, 2010

Free Book by Brian Tome


This book is about you having a life void of fear and rife with freedom. It’s about casting off whatever hinders you and going after the grand adventure of experiencing God while you experience all of life. (page 9)

I honestly loved this book. I can probably say that this book is the best I’ve read lately.
It is challenging, I mean it was impossible for me to read it without wanting to change my life. I think that this book is written for everyone, everyone has some bondages that keeps them from experiencing the freedom that this books talks about, the freedom that Jesus strives to give us.

I also loved the honest and straight approach that the author has here. He doesn’t step aside from the truth, he doesn’t care about criticism, he is transparent with his life and his mistakes, he really doesn’t want to impress, he is just taking his calling seriously – he wants to give others freedom.

This kind of freedom is only found in Christ because Where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. (2 Corinthians 3.17)




Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”